Brussels x3

eD4bPTNbW0fFPBXeAWHFXehV

The triumphal arch of the Parc du Cinquantenaire (“Park of the Fiftieth Anniversary”) in Brussels. The buildings in the complex  were commissioned for the 1880 National Exhibition commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of Belgian independence. The present triumphal arch was erected in 1905, replacing a previous temporary version.

BT3X3bH99B44M3V4S9KS25JR

Brussels Grand Place with the famous flower carpet. I have to admit that I’ve always thought that the said carpet is just a pretty garden on the square. Eventually I found out that this is not the case and that the flower carpet is set up every two years for only a few days. I felt like I’ve spent my whole life living in a lie. 😀 If anyone is interested – a few picture of how the magic happens – click, click, click. Though I’m still wondering how the wind doesn’t ruin the carpet, may be they glue the flowers or something… If anyone knows, I’d appreciate if you could tell me. 😀

t04BY4LSYCSJePMMF4F2JWBR

Basilique Nationale du Sacré-Cœur (The National Basilica of the Sacred Heart). Symbolically King Leopold II laid the first stone of the basilica in 1905 during the celebrations of the 75th anniversary of Belgian independence. The construction was halted by the two World Wars and finished only in 1969.

All cards were sent by my pen pal Nicolas, the best pen pal ever! :p Since I know you read may be I should mention that now I only need postcards with Manneken Pis (preferably with clothes… he is so cute dressed like Evzone 😀 ) and the Atomium and my Brussels collection will be complete… *cough* 😀

Leave a Reply

